I almost got ACORN’d

America: I understand that volunteers staff the polling stations, but is it too much to ask for competence?

I went to vote yesterday & upon feeding my ballot into the machine, it made the standard sound that it had accepted my ballot.  However, the tally on the machine did not change.  I thought since I was voting on 2 ballots, it would change after I fed through the second ballot.  It did not.  Apparently, there were 15 or so machines in Tulsa that malfunctioned yesterday.

I alerted a volunteer & she had the next person in line submit one of their ballots & the number again stayed the same.  Concerned, she placed a call to the election board (whose website, incidentally, doesn’t appear to have changed since it was first created).  While doing this, I peeked at the machine’s receipt roll & noticed that it had repeated entries of “stuck ballot.”

After conversing with the election board, she came back to inform me that she couldn’t do anything.  I asked if I should fill out a provisional ballot.  She said no & that she was sorry but it seemed that my vote was lost.  At this point, I began to suspect she was an ACORN secret agent.  Shaking that idea, I determined she was simply incompetence, so I called the election board & after receiving the spiel about how Oklahoma’s voting system is so great because it leaves a paper trail, I was assured that my vote would be counted.  After double-checking with the technician who had arrived on site during my call, he informed me, after repeating the aforementioned spiel, that my vote would be manually re-fed through the machine.

The fact that my vote was nearly derailed by a doofus, while initially grating & ultimately meaningless on the federal level, has since turned into a great story.

Explore posts in the same categories: oklahoma, politics

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “I almost got ACORN’d”

  1. Replicant Says:

    Mine was broken at some point in the day as the tech was there checking it to make sure it was working again. It felt good to vote for Obama/Biden but let’s face it–as long as the fraud that is the E.C. is in effect–many votes are just a waste of time and really only for yourself so you can look yourself in the mirror. That said–I’m still on cloud nine that these 8 years of hellish right wingers is over!

  2. B. Dubbins Says:

    Reason number one for early voting in OK. So tell me, how did you really feel as you cast your vote for the first woman to be taken seriously enough to nearly become president?


Leave a Reply

