News

I’ve had to think quite a bit before writing this post in order to sort things out and construct a coherent narrative instead of a stream-of-consciousness post.

I found out this week that my dad has prostate cancer.

As I suspect usually happens to anyone who receives this diagnosis, it was a surprise. Some previous tests showed no visible issues but a biopsy discovered malignant tissue. We’re not sure how far along it is or about its severity (that’s to come over the next few weeks), but we know it’s there & that’s been enough to be….unnerving.

It’s an interesting (although common) experience to be faced with your parent’s mortality. As my mind has been consumed by this matter over the last few days, I find myself reflecting back to my reaction on the day (not on the moment) of receiving the news: “Man, grown up stuff sucks.”

It wasn’t intended to be a derogation of the seriousness of the situation, more a tongue-in-cheek reflection of the fact that I feel like a 30 year old kid. Having witnessed my grandmother undergo her cancer treatment, remission and re-occurrence phases, I was envisioning myself engaged in these procedures with my dad. Not uncommon or extraordinary tasks to do, but versus my experience with my grandmother, this incident is manifestly more personal.

So, that’s that. Tests are forthcoming. I will, no doubt, be writing more about this as it unfolds.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

3 Comments on “News”

  1. Damon Says:

    man. sorry to hear. I’ll hold you + the family in the light + check in for updates.

  2. jenn Says:

    my heart sank when i read the entry. i am so so sorry to hear the news. please let me know if there’s anything we can do by way of support – and know that you and your family are in our thoughts. please keep us posted.

  3. brain Says:

    my father in law was diagnosed with the exact same thing last month. my heart goes out to you and the family. you know i’m close if you need anything.


Leave a Reply

