Move over Speak & Spell

I read a post on Gizmodo this morning that surprised me probably more than it should. It was about a visual search engine coming to the iPhone & the video below explains it. What captivated me was the potential for the next leap in search technology. Obviously, integrating voice search will be a major advancement in search, but visual search seems to be more feasible for the present. The concept of being able to take a picture of an item, even if that item is partially obstructed, and being able to submit it to a search engine got my mind to spinning. I know it may violate the concept of being unplugged, but imagine a hiker coming across a plant & wondering if it is safe to eat or if it, in the words of Ralph Wiggum after eating a berry from such a plant, “tastes like burning.” You could take a photo of a rash to see what it might be or a bug bite to see how to treat it or even a bug to see if it will try to kill you if you put it under a magnifying glass. Anyway, I think this concept is very cool & I look forward to seeing how it evolves.

Explore posts in the same categories: Tech, video

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

One Comment on “Move over Speak & Spell”

  1. Hank Ralphison Says:

    OK, say I take a pic of my, you know, JUNK.
    Do you think it would be like the magic mirror and
    tell me who or what is the fairest of them all (or if it
    looks like junk at all, sometimes I wonder).


Leave a Reply

