Sailing with Billy Ocean

For as long as I can recall, I have always been able to remember my dreams. Many mornings of my youth consisted of me recounting my dreams to my parents as breakfast conversation. As clearly as I have been able to remember my dreams, I have never quite understood how some people chronically cannot remember theirs. The memories of my dreams are so vivid that I have frequently combined them with the memories of my wakened life only to realize, sometimes days later, that they occurred only in my dreamscape.

Most dreams, while memorable in their eccentricities, usually have no realistic application. However, there have been a few times in my life when I have dreamt of a scenario that I could actually see happening. Case in point: the other night, I had a dream that my family & I were sitting at a lunch counter in a nondescript diner. And no, I don’t think it was influenced by the Sopranos finale as my dad looks much more like other celebrities than he does James Gandolfini. Anyway, as we were eating, there was a guy making a pitch to us to help buy athletic equipment for little league teams around the OKC area. There was a bit of back & forth that I don’t remember, but what I do recall was this exchange:

Pitchman: Just think of all the teams you’ll be able to equip who otherwise wouldn’t have the means to do so!
Me: So you’ll be helping out kids, kind of like Toys for Tots?
Pitchman: Kind of, yeah.
Me: You should call yours “Cups for Pups.”

I awoke with a smile on my face.

Explore posts in the same categories: General

One Comment on “Sailing with Billy Ocean”

  1. Tex Says:

    Your dreams are still making me laugh.


Leave a Reply

