OKC’s finest

Continuing my weekend of outdoor film viewing, I went downtown last night for a screening of The Flaming Lips upcoming DVD, “U.F.O.s at the Zoo – The Legendary Concert,” which was filmed during their concert at the Zoo Amphitheater last September. The screening was part of the Deadcenter Film Festival. As such, they screened a short called “Pericardium Dreams” by some student filmmakers in Norman that was pretty funny.

Anyway, there were easily a couple of hundred people at the screening, most of whom seemed to have gone to the show last fall. Since that show, I have been racking my brain as to why I did not go & the only conclusion I can come up with is that I was studying for comps. If that’s the case, I’m really pissed at myself for not going because, if you watched the trailer above, you can see what an experience a Lips show is, especially because they are from Oklahoma City & are quite proud of it.

I did attend their previous OKC show a few years ago & it was the greatest concert experience of my life. I enjoy their music, but you can see from the footage that it’s so much more. It’s a very playful, interactive time. Staying true to their form, the lead singer of the Lips, Wayne Coyne, was at the screening last night & had some of the confetti cannons with him that were used in the film. Watching himself on screen, he would synchronously fire one of these canons into the crowd. I think it brought some of the excitement from the show to the screening. Here are some pics from my phone & I swear, I’m going to start carrying my camera to these things from now on:

lips3lipslips2

Oh, and a note to the lady who was emceeing the pre-screening award show last night: Your continuous bleeting of high-pitched “woohoos” & “yahoos” into the mic, eliciting a response from the crowd in some sort of weird, Moron mating ritual, was totally unnecessary. Totally.

Explore posts in the same categories: General, movies, oklahoma

2 Comments on “OKC’s finest”

  1. Replicant Says:

    I’m kicking myself I didn’t see that show either. Plus, they are playing downtown Tulsa in July but won’t make that one either as I’ve got the Buffy-Sing-A-Long that weekend at the Circle…

  2. Guy Gadbois Says:

    Aw man, I’m coming to that show & was hoping to maybe stay with you 🙂


Leave a Reply

